Browns to induct Fiss, Gibron into Legends

Posted Sep 26, 2013

The Cleveland Browns will induct Galen Fiss and Abe Gibron into the Cleveland Browns Legends this weekend.

BEREA, Ohio -- The Cleveland Browns will induct former linebacker Galen Fiss (1956-65) and guard Abe Gibron (1950-56) into the Cleveland Browns Legends during the Browns-Bengals game at FirstEnergy Stadium on Sunday, the team announced Thursday.

Fiss and Gibron will be honored throughout Alumni Weekend (Friday-Sunday), highlighted by a pregame induction ceremony. Including the 2013 honorees, the Cleveland Browns Legends boasts 54 members.

Launched in 2001, the Cleveland Browns Legends recognizes former players who have made a major impact on the organization, with new members inducted each year except for 2009.

The Browns will continue their celebration of former players with a ceremony honoring Pro Football Hall of Fame running back Jim Brown during the Browns-Bills game on Thursday, Oct. 3, broadcast nationally on the NFL Network. Brown, along with all of the team’s then-Hall of Famers, was a charter member of the Cleveland Browns Legends in 2001.

LB Galen Fiss (1956-65) – Two-time Pro Bowl selection (1963-64)…Helped Browns compile 84-4-1 record (.667), reach the playoffs four times, win three division titles and claim 1964 league championship…Registered 13 interceptions…Played in 139 games…Drafted by Cleveland in the 13th round (No. 155 overall) of the 1953 NFL Draft…Attended University of Kansas…Native of Johnson, Kansas.

G Abe Gibron (1950-56) – Two-time all-league honoree (1954-55)…Four-time Pro Bowl selection (1953-56)…Played in 84 games…Helped Browns compile a 63-20-1 record (.756), claim six consecutive division titles and win three league championships…Blocked for Pro Football Hall of Famers Otto Graham and Marion Motley...Served as head coach of the Chicago Bears from 1972-74…Attended Purdue University…Native of Michigan City, Indiana.


Class of 2001*:          Gene Hickerson, Bernie Kosar, Michael Dean Perry, Greg Pruitt, Ray Renfro

Class of 2002:            Clay Matthews, Brian Sipe, Mac Speedie

Class of 2003:            Hanford Dixon, Bob Gain, Dick Schafrath

Class of 2004:            Gary Collins, Mike Pruitt, Tommy James, Dub Jones

Class of 2005:            Frank Minnifield, Frank Ryan, Jerry Sherk, Jim Ray Smith

Class of 2006:            Earnest Byner, Doug Dieken, Jim Houston, Walt Michaels

Class of 2007:            Don Cockroft, Horace Gillom, Bill Glass, Kevin Mack

Class of 2008:            Walter Johnson, Warren Lahr, Eric Metcalf, Paul Wiggin

Class of 2010:            Cody Risien, John Wooten

Class of 2011:            Vince Costello, Tom DeLeone

Class of 2012:            Ernie Green, Clarence Scott

* Browns Pro Football Hall of Famers were automatically inducted in 2001.


Recent Headlines