Dawson, Jackson honored by local PFWA

Posted Dec 27, 2012

Phil Dawson and D'Qwell Jackson have been honored by the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Cleveland Browns linebacker D’Qwell Jackson and kicker Phil Dawson each earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) for the 2012 season. Dawson was named the PFWA Player of the Year and Jackson was named the PFWA Dino Lucarelli ‘Good Guy Award’ winner. The pair will be honored at the 33rd annual Akron Browns Backers banquet on May 20, 2013 at the Tangier Restaurant.

Dawson became the first Browns player selected to the Pro Bowl as a kicker (Lou Groza was selected as tackle), when he was named to the AFC squad last night. His 96.6 (28 of 29) field goal percentage this season leads the AFC and he is 6 for 6 on field goals from 50 yards or longer, which is tied for the most in the AFC. With 112 points, he extended his team-record to six 100-point seasons in his career. He also set a career-high with 29 touchbacks this season, surpassing his previous best of 12 in 2008. The longest tenured member of the Browns, Dawson owns an 84.2 career field-goal percentage, which ranks first all-time in NFL history among the 25 kickers with 300 or more field goals. Dawson was voted one of three team captains by his teammates prior to the season opener.

The ‘Good Guy Award’ is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates. Jackson was one of 11 players nominated by the local media for the award. Jackson has started all 15 games this season at middle linebacker. He has totaled a team-leading 114 tackles, while adding 3.5 sacks, two interceptions, two forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries, five passes defensed and one touchdown. Jackson was named AFC Defensive Player of the Week for his Week 12 efforts as he recorded nine tackles, forced one fumble and recovered another as the Browns defeated the Pittsburgh Steelers 20-14 on November 25. He was also was named a first alternate at inside linebacker for the 2013 Pro Bowl. Jackson was also voted one of three team captains by his teammates prior to the season opener.

Cleveland Browns PFWA Player of the Year Winners:

2001 LB Jamir Miller

2002 RB William Green

2003 LB Andra Davis

2004 SS Robert Griffith

2005 RB Reuben Droughns

2006 LB Kamerion Wimbley

2007 QB Derek Anderson

2008 DL Shaun Rogers

2009 KR Joshua Cribbs

2010 RB Peyton Hillis

2011 LB D’Qwell Jackson

2012 K Phil Dawson

Cleveland Browns PFWA Dino Lucarelli ‘Good Guy Award’ Winners:

2001 QB Tim Couch

2002 DB Corey Fuller

2003 OL Shaun O’Hara

2004 DB Daylon McCutcheon

2005 OL Jeff Faine

2006 DB Brian Russell

2007 K Phil Dawson

2008 DB Brandon McDonald

2009 LB David Bowens

2010 OL Joe Thomas

2011 DB Mike Adams

2012 LB D’Qwell Jackson

Recent Headlines