Ward named Courage Award winner

Posted Dec 9, 2013

Cleveland Browns defensive back T.J. Ward has been named the team's Ed Block Courage Award winner.

BEREA, Ohio -- Cleveland Browns DB T.J. Ward has been chosen by his teammates to receive the 2013 Ed Block Courage Award. The Ed Block Courage Award is given annually to a member of each of the 32 NFL teams who exemplifies the qualities of Ed Block, the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, based on courage, compassion, commitment and community. All 32 winners will be honored at an event in Baltimore.

Ward, who sustained a knee injury in 2012 and was placed on injured reserve, ranks second on the team this season with 106 tackles (84 solo), leads the club with 13 tackles for loss, boasts two interceptions and seven passes defensed and has missed only one or zero defensive snaps in nine of 13 contests. During the Browns’ 37-24 primetime victory against the Buffalo Bills in Week 5, he registered his first career interception-return touchdown in the game’s final two minutes to secure the win.

This past year, Ward supported Browns PLAY 60 through school visits and hosting youth football camps, helped provide turkeys to Northeast Ohio families for Thanksgiving and sponsored a community season-ticket program, which provides tickets, apparel and food for the Boys & Girls Club. Ward, who will host a holiday shopping spree for local children in need tonight, established the T.J. Ward Foundation, focused on providing young people with the tools needed to become strong, responsible men and women by emphasizing education, family values and community.

Ward will be presented the 2013 Ed Block Courage Award Tuesday at Providence House’s 18th Annual Deck the House Benefit at FirstEnergy Stadium, with the dinner program beginning at 6 p.m. Browns OL Joe Thomas and his wife, Annie, will serve as honorary co-chairs for the event.

Cleveland Browns Ed Block Courage Award winners

1984-WR Willis Adams

1985-DE Carl Hairston       

1986-TE Ozzie Newsome

1987-RB Earnest Byner

1988-LB Eddie Johnson

1989-T Cody Risien

1990-RB Kevin Mack

1991-CB Mark Harper

1992-WR Lawyer Tillman

1993-WR Patrick Rowe

1994-LB Carl Banks

1995-DB Bennie Thompson

1999-DE Derrick Alexander

2000-LB Jamir Miller

2001-OG Jeremy McKinney

2002-TE Mark Campbell

2003-DL Courtney Brown

2004-RB Lee Suggs

2005-LB Kenard Lang

2006-K Phil Dawson

2007-DB Gary Baxter

2008-WR Joe Jurevicius

2009-WR Mike Furrey

2010-LB Eric Barton

2011-LB D’Qwell Jackson

2012-P Reggie Hodges

2013-DB T.J. Ward

Recent Headlines