Browns Legends

The Cleveland Browns organization honors the team’s all-time greats through the Cleveland Browns Legends Program. This program honors the men who have contributed to the success of the Browns organization. The Legends Program started in 2001 with the automatic induction of the Browns’ then Pro Football Hall of Famers along with the initial class of five other inductees.

Here are the basic guidelines for the Cleveland Browns Legends program:

The three requirements to be eligible for consideration for induction are:

  1. Candidates will have played for at least five seasons with the Cleveland Browns.
  2. Candidates must have been a major contributor at their respective positions.
  3. Candidates will have been retired from playing professional football for at least five years.

Number of Inductees
Starting in 2010, the number of yearly inductees was set at two:

  1. With the initial ballot, panelists will shorten the list of eligible candidates down to ten finalists.
  2. From that group, a second ballot will be cast in which panelists will simply select the best two players from the ten finalists.
  3. In the event of a tied ballot, a third ballot will be cast to determine the final inductees.

Selection Panel
The Legends Selection Panel consists of eight members:

  • Doug Dieken - Browns Alumni, Legends Class of 2006
  • Jim Donovan - News Anchor, WKYC TV3
  • Joe Horrigan - Vice President Communications/Exhibits, Pro Football Hall of Fame
  • Leroy Kelly - Browns Alumni, Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 1994, Legends Class of 2001
  • Dino Lucarelli - Former Director of Alumni Relations, Cleveland Browns
  • Kevin Mack - Alumni Relations, Cleveland Browns, Legends Class of 2007
  • Terry Pluto - Columnist, The Plain Dealer
  • Chris Willis - Archivist, NFL Films

Hall of Fame Members (inducted in 2001)
Jim Brown - Fullback
Len Ford - Defensive End
Frank Gatski - Center
Otto Graham - Quarterback
Lou Groza - Offensive Tackle/Kicker
Leroy Kelly - Running Back
Dante Lavelli- End
Mike McCormack - Offensive Tackle
Bobby Mitchell - Wide Receiver/Halfback
Marion Motley - Fullback
Ozzie Newsome - Tight End
Paul Warfield - Wide Receiver
Bill Willis - Middle Guard

Hall of Fame Members (inducted in 2003)
Joe DeLamielleure - Offensive Guard

Hall of Fame Members (inducted in 2007)
Gene Hickerson - Offensive Guard

Class of 2001
Ray Renfro - Wide Receiver
Greg Pruitt - Running Back
Gene Hickerson - Offensive Guard
Bernie Kosar - Quarterback
Michael Dean Perry - Defensive Tackle

Class of 2002
Mac Speedie - Wide Receiver
Brian Sipe - Quarterback
Clay Matthews - Linebacker

Class of 2003
Bob Gain - Defensive Tackle
Dick Schafrath - Offensive Tackle
Hanford Dixon - Cornerback

Class of 2004
Tommy James - Defensive Back
Dub Jones - Wide Receiver
Gary Collins - Wide Receiver/ Punter
Mike Pruitt - Running Back

Class of 2005
Jim Ray Smith - Guard
Frank Ryan - Quarterback
Jerry Sherk - Defensive Tackle
Frank Minnifield - Cornerback

Class of 2006
Walt Michaels - Linebacker
Jim Houston - Defensive End/ Linebacker
Doug Dieken - Offensive Tackle
Earnest Byner - Running Back

Class of 2007
Horace Gillom - Punter/Wide Receiver
Bill Glass - Defensive End
Don Cockroft - Kicker/Punter
Kevin Mack - Running Back

Class of 2008
Warren Lahr - Defensive Back
Paul Wiggin - Defensive End
Walter Johnson - Defensive Tackle
Eric Metcalf - Running Back

Class of 2010
John Wooten - Offensive Guard
Cody Risien - Offensive Tackle

Class of 2011
Vince Costello - Linebacker
Tom DeLeone - Center

Class of 2012
Clarence Scott – Defensive Back
Ernie Green – Running Back

Class of 2013
Abe Gibron – Offensive Guard
Galen Fiss – Linebacker

Class of 2014
Robert Jackson – Offensive Guard
Milt Morin – Tight End

Class of 2015
Don Colo – Defensive Tackle
Bob Golic – Nose Tackle

Class of 2016
Dick Ambrose – Linebacker
Thom Darden – Free Safety

Class of 2017
Bernie Parrish – Defensive Back
Tony Adamle – Linebacker/Fullback

Recent Headlines