Skip to main content


Gary Barnidge, Josh McCown earn local PFWA awards

Cleveland Browns TE Gary Barnidge and QB Josh McCown each have earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) for the 2015 season. Barnidge was voted the the PFWA Player of the Year and McCown was named the PFWA Dino Lucarelli 'Good Guy Award' winner. The pair will be honored at the 36th annual Akron Browns Backers banquet in May at the Tangier Restaurant.

Barnidge is leading the team with 71 receptions, 977 receiving yards and nine receiving touchdowns. His nine receiving touchdowns are tied with Hall of Famer Ozzie Newsome (1979) for the most by a Browns tight end in a season. Barnidge's 71 receptions are the sixth-most by a Browns tight end in a season and ninth-most by any Browns player. His 977 receiving yards are the fourth-most by a Browns tight end in a season. Barnidge is the first tight end to earn the award since its inception in 2001.

The 'Good Guy Award' is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates. McCown started eight games and completed 186 of 292 passes (63.7 percent) for 2,109 yards with 12 touchdowns, four interceptions and a 93.3 rating. He set the Browns single-game record with 457 passing yards at Baltimore on Oct. 11, and became the first player in team history to throw for 300 yards in three consecutive games. He broke his clavicle against Baltimore on Nov. 30, and was placed on injured reserve.

Cleveland Browns PFWA Player of the Year Winners:

2001 LB Jamir Miller

2002 RB William Green

2003 LB Andra Davis

2004 SS Robert Griffith

2005 RB Reuben Droughns

2006 LB Kamerion Wimbley

2007 QB Derek Anderson

2008 DL Shaun Rogers

2009 KR Joshua Cribbs

2010 RB Peyton Hillis

2011 LB D'Qwell Jackson

2012 K Phil Dawson

2013 WR Josh Gordon

2014 OL Joe Thomas

2015 TE Gary Barnidge

Cleveland Browns PFWA Dino Lucarelli 'Good Guy Award' Winners:

2001 QB Tim Couch

2002 DB Corey Fuller

2003 OL Shaun O'Hara

2004 DB Daylon McCutcheon

2005 OL Jeff Faine

2006 DB Brian Russell

2007 K Phil Dawson

2008 DB Brandon McDonald

2009 LB David Bowens

2010 OL Joe Thomas

2011 DB Mike Adams

2012 LB D'Qwell Jackson

2013 OL Joe Thomas

2014 QB Brian Hoyer

2015 QB Josh McCown

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content