Skip to main content

Baker Mayfield, Joel Bitonio earn local PFWA awards

Cleveland Browns QB Baker Mayfield and OL Joel Bitonio each have earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) for the 2018 season. Mayfield was voted the PFWA Joe Thomas Award winner and Bitonio was named the PFWA Dino Lucarelli 'Good Guy Award' winner. The pair will be honored at the 39th annual Akron Browns Backers banquet in May at the Tangier Restaurant.

The Player of the Year Award was renamed the Joe Thomas Award following the 10-time Pro Bowlers' retirement after the 2017 season. Mayfield's 24 passing touchdowns are the third-most by rookie in NFL history. He has thrown at least one touchdown pass in each of his 12 starts, trailing only St. Louis' Kurt Warner (23 from 1999-00) and Minnesota's Brad Johnson (15 from 1996-97) for the most consecutive starts with a touchdown pass to begin an NFL career. Mayfield's 64.6 completion percentage currently ranks second in Browns history behind Otto Graham (64.7 in 1953). Mayfield's 3,349 passing yards are currently 11th all-time in Browns history and the second-most by a Browns rookie. Mayfield was the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Month for November, the AFC Offensive Player of the Week for Week 16 and has been voted the NFL Rookie of the Week five times.  

The 'Good Guy Award' is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates. Bitonio is the first player to win the award in consecutive years and joins Joe Thomas as the award's only repeat winners. Bitonio, the longest tenured member of the Browns and team captain, has started all 15 games at left guard and has not missed an offensive snap this season.

Cleveland Browns PFWA

Joe Thomas Award - Player of the Year Winners:

2001   LB Jamir Miller
2002   RB William Green
2003   LB Andra Davis
2004   SS Robert Griffith
2005   RB Reuben Droughns
2006   LB Kamerion Wimbley
2007   QB Derek Anderson
2008   DL Shaun Rogers
2009   KR Joshua Cribbs
2010   RB Peyton Hillis
2011   LB D'Qwell Jackson
2012   K Phil Dawson
2013   WR Josh Gordon
2014   OL Joe Thomas
2015   TE Gary Barnidge
2016   OL Joe Thomas
2017   RB Duke Johnson Jr.
2018   QB Baker Mayfield

Cleveland Browns PFWA Dino Lucarelli 'Good Guy Award' Winners:

2001   QB Tim Couch
2002   DB Corey Fuller
2003   OL Shaun O'Hara
2004   DB Daylon McCutcheon
2005   OL Jeff Faine
2006   DB Brian Russell
2007   K Phil Dawson
2008   DB Brandon McDonald
2009   LB David Bowens
2010   OL Joe Thomas
2011   DB Mike Adams
2012   LB D'Qwell Jackson
2013   OL Joe Thomas
2014   QB Brian Hoyer
2015   QB Josh McCown
2016   LB Christian Kirksey
2017   OL Joel Bitonio
2018   OL Joel Bitonio