Skip to main content

2020 NFL Draft

Browns announce jersey numbers for draft picks, free agent signings

The picks are in, and so are the numbers.

The Browns have announced jersey numbers for all 12 of their selections in the 2015 NFL Draft. All but one (defensive lineman Xavier Cooper) will be donning a different number than what they wore in their final college season.

The Browns' first pick, defensive lineman Danny Shelton, wore No. 71 early in his Washington career. Most of the team's other rookies wore numbers in college that wouldn't be permitted in the NFL, such as running back Duke Johnson and linebacker Nate Orchard, who both wore No. 8.

The numbers, which are subject to change in the months leading up to the season, are also locked in for the nine free agent signings who have joined the roster since the end of the 2014 season.

Draft picks

DL Danny Shelton - 71

Notables who have worn it: DL Ahtyba Rubin (2008-13), OL Jim Pyne (1999-2000), DT Walter Johnson (1965-76)

OL Cameron Erving - 74

Notables who have worn it: LB/FB Tony Adamle (1947-51), OL Paul Farren (1983-91)

LB Nate Orchard - 48

Notables who have worn it: OL Forrest "Chubby" Grigg (1948-51), DB Lawrence Johnson (1979-84)

RB Duke Johnson - 30

Notables who have worn it: G Bill Willis (1946-51), DB Bernie Parrish (1959-66), RB Ken Brown (1970-75), RB Cleo Miller (1976-82), RB Jamel White (2000-2003)

DL Xavier Cooper - 96*

Notables who have worn it: DB Don Shula (1951), DE Reggie Camp (1983-87), DL James Jones (1991-94), DL Kenard Lang (2002-05)

DB Ibraheim Campbell - 29

Notables who have worn it: DB Walt Sumner (1969-74), DB Hanford Dixon (1981-89), S Eric Turner (1991-95)

WR Vince Mayle - 85

Notables who have worn it: HB Ara Parseghian (1948-49), WR Dave Logan (1976-83), WR Kevin Johnson (1999-03)

DB Charles Gaines - 43

Notables who have worn it: WR Fair Hooker (1969-74), RB Mike Pruitt (1976-84), DB T.J. Ward (2010-13)

FB Malcolm Johnson - 44

Notables who have worn it: OL/DL Lou Rymkus (1946-51), RB Leroy Kelly (1964-73), RB Earnest Byner (1984-88), FB Tommy Vardell (1992-95)

TE Randall Telfer - 86

Notables who have worn it: HB Dub Jones (1948-51), E-DE Dante Lavelli (1952-56), WR Gary Collins (1962-71), WR Brian Brennan (1984-91), WR Dennis Northcut (2000-2006)

LB Hayes Pullard - 40

Notables who have worn it: HB Dub Jones (1952-55), WR Preston Carpenter (1956-59), DB Erich Barnes (1965-71)

DB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu - 25

Notables who have worn it: WR Frank Pitts (1971-73)

Free agent acquisitions

QB Thaddeus Lewis - 3

QB Josh McCown - 13

DB Tramon Williams - 22

DB Varmah Sonie - 35

DB Micah Pellerin - 38

WR Dwayne Bowe - 80

WR Brian Hartline - 83

TE Rob Housler - 84

DL Randy Starks - 94

New numbers

DB Robert Nelson - 27

LB Keith Pough - 52

OL Vinston Painter - 70

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content