Skip to main content

Browns to induct Erich Barnes, Eddie Johnson into Legends during Alumni Weekend


The Cleveland Browns will celebrate cherished alumni this weekend, including the induction of DB Erich Barnes (1965-71) and LB Eddie Johnson (1981-90) into the Cleveland Browns Legends program on Saturday, as well as a halftime ceremony honoring the two during Sunday's season opener against Pittsburgh.

Head Coach Hue Jackson also invited the more than 60 Browns alumni participating in the weekend's festivities to be special guests during the team's workout on Saturday morning (no media availability scheduled).

The Browns will induct Barnes and Johnson into the Cleveland Browns Legends program during a dinner ceremony in FirstEnergy Stadium's 7UP City Club on Saturday (5:30 p.m.), alongside Browns ownership and staff, as well as fellow alumni coaches and players, prior to Sunday's on-field tribute.

Barnes and Johnson will be recognized throughout Alumni Weekend (Friday-Sunday), with the events encompassing more than 185 Browns alumni, family members and guests. 

To begin the weekend, more than 50 Browns alumni will reunite on Friday morning at Westwood Country Club for the Eighth Annual Cleveland Browns Alumni Golf Outing. 

Cleveland Browns Legends Class of 2018

DB Erich Barnes (1965-71) – A fourth-round pick by the Chicago Bears in 1958, Barnes brought Pro Bowl and All-Pro experience to the Cleveland Browns in 1965. A seven-year player for the Browns, Barnes had 18 of his 45 career interceptions in a Browns uniform, returning three for TDs. Barnes anchored a defensive backfield that made five postseason appearances, reaching the 1965 NFL Championship game, plus back-to-back conference championship games in 1968-69. He was selected to a Pro Bowl with the Browns following the 1968 season and totaled six Pro Bowl honors during his NFL career. He was also a first-team All-Pro selection in 1961 and a second-team All-Pro in 1959, 1962 and 1964. A native of Elkhart, Ind., and a the three-sport athlete at Purdue, Barnes was inducted into the Indiana Football Hall of Fame in 1968 and the Purdue University Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame in 2009.

LB Eddie Johnson (1981-90) – A seventh-round pick in the 1981 NFL Draft, Johnson joined the Browns after finishing third at Louisville in tackles in three separate seasons. In Marty Schottenheimer's first year as head coach, Johnson registered 172 tackles and 108 solo stops. The following season, he was voted defensive co-captain and earned AP honorable mention All-Pro laurels after finishing the season second on the team with 148 tackles. With a hard-hitting style of play, Johnson helped the Browns claim three consecutive AFC Central Division championships (1985-87). He was also known for his durability on the field as he appeared in 101 consecutive games from 1981-1987. Johnson's contributions to the organization continued off of the field as he was awarded the team's Ed Block Courage Award in 1988. After his NFL career, Johnson became an ordained minister in 1993 and dedicated the rest of his life to helping others in the community.

Cleveland Browns Legends:

Class of 2001*

Gene Hickerson, Bernie Kosar, Michael Dean Perry, Greg Pruitt, Ray Renfro

Class of 2002

Clay Matthews, Brian Sipe, Mac Speedie

Class of 2003

Hanford Dixon, Bob Gain, Dick Schafrath

Class of 2004

Gary Collins, Mike Pruitt, Tommy James, Dub Jones

Class of 2005

Frank Minnifield, Frank Ryan, Jerry Sherk, Jim Ray Smith

Class of 2006

Earnest Byner, Doug Dieken, Jim Houston, Walt Michaels

Class of 2007

Don Cockroft, Horace Gillom, Bill Glass, Kevin Mack

Class of 2008

Walter Johnson, Warren Lahr, Eric Metcalf, Paul Wiggin

Class of 2010

Cody Risien, John Wooten

Class of 2011

Vince Costello, Tom DeLeone

Class of 2012

Ernie Green, Clarence Scott

Class of 2013

Galen Fiss, Abe Gibron

Class of 2014

Robert E. Jackson, Milt Morin

Class of 2015

Don Colo, Bob Golic

Class of 2016

Dick Ambrose, Thom Darden

Class of 2017

Bernie Parrish, Tony Adamle

Class of 2018

Erich Barnes, Eddie Johnson

* Browns Pro Football Hall of Famers were automatically inducted in 2001